Goal # 1: Competing a Half Marathon.

Now that I am almost headed stateside, (2 more days until I head back, 3 until I am home,) I am going to start talking about the current goals I have that I hope will set me well on my way on my path of fitness, health, and happiness. While I am looking to find a balance out of all of this, kind of like macaroni broccolini and cheese, I know that I am going to have to start by being a bit strict and having goals, so that I can start to shed some elbees and start to live the kind of life I know that’s going to be good for me and make me happier too.

Last December, I decided that my New Year’s resolution was going to be running a half marathon. It’s something that I’ve always viewed as a great accomplishment, and something on my bucket list. I decided to sign up for the Virginia Beach Rock ‘n’ Roll Half Marathon because A) I’ve heard the Rock ‘n’ Roll races are quite fun (motiviation,} B) proximity to where I live, and C) it’s not until the first weekend in September. (Plenty of time, right?)

My initial plan was to start training weeks and weeks in advance, more than the normal 12 most people set aside. Well, those weeks and weeks have come and gone, and by the time I get back to the States I will have 10 weeks to get ready for this baby. Now, generally speaking, this would make me want to reconsider, push back this goal, figure out another race. But I’ve decided that I am going to do it. I’m going to train as hard as I can, and run as much as I can, and whether it takes me 2 hours or 2 days (somewhat joking) I am going to cross that finish line.

I’ve done so research, and with the help of some bloggers out there discovered  Hal Higdon’s website. I’ve used his Novice Half Marathon Training Program to develop my own 10 week program. Basically I skip weeks 2 and 4 in order to cut the 2 weeks off the program.

(Click to Make Larger)

I know that this is not going to be easy, that I am not going to be perfect, and that I am not going to be running fast or all the time. But I do know that I am dedicated and that I am going to do my best, and hopefully set the tone so that then next time I sign up for a race, I train properly and go all out.

Hopefully I am not crazy and this is actually something that others agree I can do! We shall see! I’m off to catch up on some emails and read some blogs. Lots of downtime here in the sandbox!

6 thoughts on “Goal # 1: Competing a Half Marathon.

  1. Congratulations on setting a most excellent goal for yourself — half marathons are a great way to jumpstart a great running lifestyle. Additional kudos on picking Hal Higdon — that guy is so legitimate. I used his marathon training program to get me through my first marathon and use his tips in my ongoing training. Good luck in Virginia!

  2. Pingback: On the fit train. | Broccolini & Cheese

  3. Pingback: Finding a healthy, happy balance… | Broccolini & Cheese

  4. CONGRATULATIONS!!! You will be FINE. I think it’s actually good that you are feeling a bit of pressure. If you started way early then you might set yourself up for injury! That plan looks like it’s attainable and you are so capable of completing it! Your long runs are the most important so make sure you don’t skip those 🙂 You will ROCK- good luck!!!! And keep a journal… or blog 🙂

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

