Lazy Saturday.

It seems to me a lot of you out their had lazy days yesterday, which in my book, a day of laze is just what the doctor ordered; especially after a Friday night out while still a bit jet lagged! My company is going through a bit of a realignment (I say realignment because everyone’s job’s seem to be secured… unlike in a reorganization…) and because of this my boss is changing to a different director in the office.

My old boss decided he wanted to take us all out after work to say, “goodbye, and thanks for all the fish” so to speak. I planned on staying for one drink and then heading home. Well that never happens I suppose. I ended up staying for quite some time before parting ways, and definitely had at least 2 3 beers (Longboard Lagers which are delicious.) I finally headed home around 9:30 or so, which I guess doesn’t sound too late, but when you got there at 4:30 it is definitely a “late” night in my book. It was fun though, and despite the love-hate relationship I have with my job, the people I work with are fun to be around which I appreciate so much.

Yesterday I woke up early (for a weekend at least) around 8:30am or so and decided to head strait to Eastern Market with a friend. Eastern Market is probably one of my favorite things about living in the DC area. I used to be able to walk to it from my apartment, but when I moved to Arlington (across the river) in January this became a luxury I miss! Eastern Market is an open air market in DC that has fresh food and flowers all year long. And on weekends, a farmer’s market sets up outside the building with wondering fresh fruits, veggies, and a variety of other items.

Inside Eastern Market

Fresh Flowers

Fresh Fish

Outdoor Farmer's Market

I usually do not end up getting to Eastern Market that early since I have to drive or take the Metro (subway) now, so it was nice to get there early, around 9:30, in order to hit up the little food place inside Eastern Market called, The Market Lunch.

The Market Lunch

I have been wanting to try this place forever, but the line is always so long! My friend and I got there and luckily the line was reasonable, so we hopped in line and decided what to order. I had heard great things about their Blueberry Buckwheat Pancakes, so I decided to get an order of those plus a side of turkey bacon for a little protein.

Blue Buck Cakes = delicious

The pancakes were amazing. Just the right amount of blueberries and buckwheat were added, (and no I did not eat all that butter!) The turkey bacon was great too, although a little greasy. I had an iced tea on the side since they didn’t have ice coffee. (Hello? this needs to be added to your menu, people!)

My friend decided to get the Fried Green Tomato Eggs Benedict which I stole a bite of. I wish I had taken a picture, because boy was it tasty. I had never tried fried green tomatoes before, which is apparently a Southern staple (I forget I technically live in the South sometimes) so I am glad I got to test them out.

After breakfast we walked around and picked up some fruits, veggies, eggs, and turkey bacon. I love buying the fresh eggs from the market, they always taste so much better and I love that I’m supporting local businesses. They deserve the love too! ūüėČ

Eastern Market purchases - yes that's Broccolini back there!

After my shopping was complete, I said goodbye to my friend and we parted our¬†separate¬†ways. I came home, put my groceries away and decided to watch me some reality TV. (Yes, I am addicted, yes, I know it’s say, no I do not care.)

I eventually decided it was time for lunch and decided to see what I had in my freezer, as my new “diet” starts Monday and I hate wasting food. (I know this isn’t probably a good way to think about things, but this is me once again admitting I need to change, which in my book, is a good thing.)

I decided to get rid of make a¬†Vegetarian¬†Pizza I had picked up at Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago. I added an egg on top for a little protein and fun!

Lunch

I eventually went to Trader Joe’s to pick up the things I couldn’t get at Eastern Market for the week, picked up some dinner (a chicken quesadilla), watched a movie (Killers, not that great,) and went to sleep.

Overall, it was a great, laid back, lazy day which I definitely needed with my half marathon training starting on Monday and with me just returning from overseas.

This seems like a long post, and I apologize! Now that I am going to be starting more of a schedule, I am going to start posting more frequently! Off to do laundry, run a few errands, perhaps do some yoga or go on a nice walk (or both,) and clean a bit before Monday is here!

Happy Sunday ūüôā

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

