On the fit train.

Today is my first official day “on the fit train” if you will. My half marathon training program starts today, and I am following the basic guidelines of the Abs Diet in order to start having accountability for what I am putting in my mouth eating. I think most diets have tried to start and ultimately fail are ones that are unrealistic, and that is why I chose the Abs program. I don’t plan on following it to the T by any means, I just want to take the principles from it that I feel are part of a healthy, balanced diet and utilize them in my life, such as eating “power foods.” I am looking for a lifestyle change, not a follow this book for life change, so hopefully I am setting myself up for success.

I started my day off by having a nice bowl of oatmeal, with flaxseed, blueberries, cinnamon, a dash of stevia, a bit of fat free milk, a tablespoon of peanut butter on top and a sprinkle of Kashi Go Lean Crunch on top. It really hit the spot.

Not the best of pictures but...

I also had an iced coffee with stevia and a bit of fat free milk.

Love my reusable Starbuck's cup.

Work was a little hectic this morning with outside of office meetings, so on my way from the meetings back to my office I snacked on about an ounce of almonds and an ounce of dried fruit that I had put together thinking this might happen.

One thing I have already realized is that you cannot always plan your foods the way you want to. For example, today, I got pulled into going to a lunch with some colleagues of mine that are in town from overseas. Even though I had packed a lunch, I felt obligated to attend, so I tried my best to pick out a lunch that was balanced.

We went to an Irish pub which is not always the best place to find healthy food, but I finally decided on a Harvest Chicken Salad. It had greens, tomatoes, avocado, goat cheese, and chicken, and a tangy balsamic dressing. It was by far the healthiest thing on the menu and it was pretty tasty too. I drank an iced tea with it with lemon.

For an afternoon snack I had a nonfat yogurt from Trader Joe’s with some blueberries I picked up at Eastern Market this weekend. Blueberries are making me very happy today!

With this realignment at work things are pretty hectic, so I really think its a good thing that I am prioritizing my health and happiness right now because I really needed a make over. I know its only day 1 officially, but I am already feeling like I am making positive, healthy choices and that just makes me have a smile on my face. (Have I mentioned I can be a cornball at times?)

I’ll leave it at that for now. 😀

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

