Finding a healthy, happy balance…

…That’s my tagline, right? The key word being, ‘finding.’ Yet for some reason, like I always do, I try to take on too much. I try to do everything at once. I try to sprint my way to the finish, instead of viewing it like a marathon (or a half-marathon in my case,) and end up getting overwhelmed and quitting.  Slow and easy finishes their first race, right?

When I started this blog is was because I knew I had to make changes in my life. I knew it was because I wasn’t as happy as I could be and because I wanted to find a healthy balance that allows me to lose some weight, and leads me to feeling better both physically and mentally. But I was sprinting to get there. And this my friends, is going to take some time. And I need to take it one day at a time, to ensure that my healthy habits stick, that I get through different challenges I am bound to face, and most importantly, to ensure I do not get overwhelmed and I do not quit.

I love reading, and get so motivated by, so many of your blogs out there. So many of you have found that healthy, happy balance that I want in life. But I need to realize that well you guys are motivation, that I am not that yet. I am not even close to being there, but I will get there one day soon.

So while my goals of running a half-marathon and following a healthy, realistic diet plan are not bad goals in themselves, I think the the way I am approaching them is ultimately setting myself up for failure.

While both Hal Higdon’s plan that I based my training plan off of, and the Abs Diet are great plans, they are just that, plans. They are other people’s plans. This is suppose to my journey to my plan.

With my half-marathon coming up sooner, rather then later, I know I want to run it, but I know that my main goal is to finish it. No matter how much I run and how much I walk. Do I want to run the whole time? Absolutely. But my goal should be that. Running. I know that I am not an expert here, but I know that running is the majority of what I should be doing to prepare, and something that I am not even totally comfortable with at the moment. So while I think the distances in Hal’s program to follow each week are definitely a good way to do it, running is what I am going to be focusing on at first, and once I will comfortable doing that. Then I will add in strength, cross-training, etc. This doesn’t mean that I won’t do yoga, or go for walks when I am feeling it, but it does mean that I need to start learning how my body and brain work, and take it day by day, stride by stride.

With the Abs Diet, yes it’s a sensible diet plan, with lots of great ideas and food choices. But again, I need to be figuring this out for me. One day at a time. And while I can take pieces from the diet and work them in one by one, two by two, etc, I want to figure out what works best for me. And if I am struggling to eat enough snacks, etc, I know that this isn’t working for me, and that I should do what’s best for me and not what the book says to do word by word.

I haven’t blogged for 2 days, and during that time I really took into account what my day to day life is and how I need to figure out what works for me, because this is what’s going to work best long term, not just right now.

So while I promise my journey to finding a healthier, happier me won’t be perfect, I promise you it will be real. And maybe you will even get a few laughs along the way. Just like me, this blog will change day by day. And I am confident, that both me and my blog will come together, just the way we are suppose to. (Yes I just said ‘we’ as in my blog and me. I suppose I have become attached 😉 )

Anyways, I just want to be honest and put everything out there because that is the only way I am going to benefit from this blog and from my journey of finding a healthier, happier me.

Happy Friday & long weekend!!

One thought on “Finding a healthy, happy balance…

  1. Pingback: 7 Links. | Broccolini + Cheese

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

