Getting Back on Track!

My Fourth of July weekend was full of fun, and a great way to celebrate America’s 235th birthday. My weekend included Jazz in the Garden on Friday, at the National Gallery of Art, Sculpture Garden, in DC, floating down the Shenandoah River on Saturday, a delicious BBQ on Sunday, and the Nationals game plus fireworks on Monday!

Unfortunately, pictures were few and far between, (and I forgot to bring my camera cord in to work with me today) but I’ll see if I can do a proper post on it later tonight or tomorrow. I am still definitely getting used to remembering to take pictures like a good blogger, but I am going to work on it! Because pictures are some of the greatest parts of blogs and blogging!

Now that my holiday weekend is over, it’s time to get back on track. Though I did make some good food decisions over the weekend, especially with breakfasts, I definitely could have done better,  particularly in the beverages category, but I am trying and that’s what counts. Rome wasn’t built in a day, right? And my healthy habits aren’t going to perfect overnight, but I am taking it day by day, and that’s what counts.

I was sure to get in a 3 mile run/walk on Sunday which felt great, and let me tell you, floating down the Shenandoah allowed me some major swimming time which left me quite tired that night! So for the week (Monday – Sunday) I got in 7 miles on the treadmill with a total of 3 run/walks, plus a ton of walking on Monday all around the city after the game and to see the fireworks! I’d like to aim to get in about 4 or so runs in a week, with some yoga, etc thrown in, to get me ready for this half, so I am going to sit down and rework my training plan for it to get in more “me” practical.

For breakfast today I was running late to work (typical for a post three-day weekend Tuesday) so once I got to work I made myself a yogurt parfait with TJ’s FF Blueberry yogurt, some granola and strawberries on top.

It was pretty good, but I don’t think I’ll be buying  regular yogurt anymore. I did it to see if I liked the change up from my normal Greek yogurt purchasing, but the Greek yogurt definitely keeps you fuller, longer with its extra protein. You live, you learn, right? 🙂

When 12 o’clock came around I was hungry and ready to eat lunch! I didn’t go to the grocery store over the weekend like I normally do, so I had to run out and get something to eat. Luckily, Subway is nearby my office, and I grabbed a Chicken and Baby Spinach salad from there, plus a bag of Baked Lays.

The salad really hit the spot and I love that you can get spinach with your salad instead of the craptastic (yes, I just said craptastic) “lettuce” that they have there. My salad included spinach, green peppers, onions, olives, cucumber, banana peppers, pickles, chicken and a scoop of avocado. Plus a little olive oil and lots of vinegar. Overall, its definitely the easiest and healthiest go to lunch for me when I forget to pack it. Probably should have skipped the Lays, but I couldn’t help myself, I was starving!

Now it back to work playing catch up since I seem to have misplaced my work BlackBerry… hopefully I find it tonight!

One thought on “Getting Back on Track!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

