Yesterday’s Eats.

I clearly need to get better about posting my food the day I eat it! I promise I will get into the swing of things soon! I was planning on doing last night but I was exhausted! I know, excuses, excuse 😉

Let’s run through this:

Breakfast

  • 1/2 serving Kashi Cinnamon Harvest
  • 1/2 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 2/3 cup fat free milk
  • frozen blueberries (love the cold & the crunch!)
  • half of a banana
  • flax seed
  • almond slivers

I loved this! So good, refreshing and kept me full all the way till lunch!

Lunch

For lunch, my co-worker and I headed to a local sandwich shop that we have both been wanting to try, Mangialardo and Sons, Inc. It’s one of those whole in the wall, DC landmarks, so when it was brought up, I couldn’t resist.

I ordered the G-Man, and didn’t really think about what would be coming on it. No whole wheat buns, and I assumed it would just come with oil and vinegar which I could live with. Well I was wrong. (So I scraped off the mayo. A little stayed on obviously, but it was better than nothing, right?) It was delicious I am not going to lie. A genuine Italian sub. I ate about 3/4 of it trying to get rid of as much bread as possible. Yum. It is my lunch splurge for the week. That’s for sure.

Dinner

For dinner it was just me as my roommate had a date, so I looked to my freezer for inspiration for a one person meal.

I picked up these Turkey Meatballs from Trader Joe’s a few weeks ago for such an occasion, and inspired by my trip to the deli yesterday created a low-cal, healthy version of a meatball sub.

  • Sandwich Thin
  • 3 Turkey Meatballs
  • Tomato sauce (with lots of herbs added in!)
  • A sprinkle of low-fat mozzarella cheese
  • Plus a spinach salad on the side

This was  delicious, and so much better for me than my sandwich at lunch. A good lesson for me that I can make just as tasty things, using better ingredients, that are so much better for me. Lesson learned. 😀 That’s what this blog is all about. Finding that healthy, happy balance. Sometime’s I’ll make “mistakes” but I move on and find out how to change those habits. It’s what I have to do! And it’s all I can do!

Dessert 

Half a cup of churned (aka low-fat) peanut butter cup ice cream. I needed a little sweet to end my day. What can I say?

All in all, not a bad day. I find myself making better decisions each day and that’s what counts. It’s the small feats!

I also headed home from work yesterday and jumped on the treadmill for 3 miles. It was a good workout for me. I’m still doing the walk run combo, but definitely running more and more!

I basically ran approximately 2.4 miles or so and walked the rest. Definitely an improvement from my last time on the treadmill….

I just gotta keep trekking, and I’ll be running further and faster in no time. I also go this book in the mail yesterday that will hopefully give me a few tips.

I’ll let you all know how it is 🙂

2 thoughts on “Yesterday’s Eats.

  1. So funny that you are reading that book…I just started reading that in the car today! She is super entertaining so far! I’m contemplating run/walking a half marathon. My husband and I are trying to have babies and from what I have read starting a big training program does not boost your babymaking abilities but I thought run/walking would be doable!

    I love your meatball sandwich idea! I love those meatballs from trader joes although there was a lady at work who would always complain and say I was heating up my stinky balls again…lol!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

