Quick Run.

Yesterday I was feeling pretty blah all day. I woke up with the intention of running but just felt so groggy an sluggish that I decided to catch an extra hour of zzz’s and run when I got home from work.

I made myself breakfast, another repeat of the two days before but with a little mix up in the cereal combo. I thought since it has treated me well the two days before it might help wipe the blah off my face.

In the mix:

  • 1/2 cup Kashi Heart to Heart Honey Toasted Cereal
  • 1/2 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 2/3 cup fat free milk
  • frozen blueberries
  • half of a banana
  • almond slivers
  • chia seeds

I live the cinnamon harvest much better, but I gotta show some love to the honey toasted too at times!

I headed to work feeling better, and worked my way through lunch. How people get a snack in between breakfast and lunch is beyond me. I mean to be honest, I wish I could because by 11 I am usually hungry, but don’t want to eat because lunch is only an hour away. I suppose I should just make myself a snack at 10 but I don’t usually remember. C’est la vie I suppose. I’ll figure it out one day šŸ˜‰

For lunch I was invite by some co-workers to go to Baja Fresh, so I quickly hopped on the website before going to see what the best bet for me was there. I was in the mood for a good, hearty salad, so I was excited to see that the Baja Ensalada is pretty good for you.

via

I decided to order the Charbroiled Shrimp Baja Ensalada with a side of guacamole.

Quick snap shot before the rest of my table arrived...

I ended up removing all the tortilla strips on top and addingĀ jalapenos, a squeeze of lime, and some salsa verde (my favorite) on top instead of getting dressing on the salad. Salsa is dressing! And so much better for you than fatty salad dressings. Delicioso!

Much to my dismay, we headed back to work. Friday afternoon are always so productive for me. Ā (Read: are not productive at all!) A few hours later I decided to have a snack in hopes it would perk me up from my afternoon slug-a-thon.

I tend to forget about kiwis, but they are so tasty!

It was raining cats and dogs when I left work so I dashed to my car and made my 30 45 minute drive home. Those extra 15 minutes (and the whole not being able to see out my front window at one point) made me quite cranky on the way home. I must have woke up on the wrong side of the bed, because it was Friday and I was still all cranky and sluggish! What gives?

I got home and did not want to run. I had already put it off in the AM and was still not feeling it. I told myself I just had to do a quick run. 2 miles. That it would help my mood and allow me to still get a run in for the day. I put my gym clothes on and headed to the gym.

I have no idea where the machine gets "Average Heart Rate" from, I don't even grip on the handles...

I decided to walk .25 miles at 4.0 and then run for 1.5 miles at 5.0 and then finish by walking the last .25 between 4.0 and 3.7. The 25 minute run totally pushed me out of my funk and I was feeling so much better. I think I’mĀ beginningĀ to like this whole runner’s high šŸ˜‰Ā I’m still slow, but I am improving every run, which is what count’s in my book!

I came back from the gym and the roommate had made dinner.

Lemon pepper chicken, whole wheat pasta and broccolini broccoli. It was pretty tasty, even tastier because I didn’t have to make it! šŸ˜€

I ran out to Marshall’s after dinner to see if I could find some good sports bras. I need new ones that are more supportive because I only seem to want to wear my Lululemon one and I am sure that is not great for the one nice sports bra I have. No luck at Marshall’s. Any suggestions on where else I could go?

When I got home I got couch, popped in a Redbox, scooped up a little bowl of churned ice cream for dessert (topped with half a banana) and called it a night.

I told you I was looking forward to a lazy weekend. I also finished The Kennedy’s mini-series last night. I really liked it actually. I know there was someĀ controversyĀ over it when it first came out, but I thought overall it was done quite well. I am not one for politics, so I will leave it at that.

This morning I woke up, started the laundry, french pressed some coffee (was in the mood for hot today,) and made an easy breakfast.

Two whole wheat waffles, one topped with almond butter the other with peanut butter, with banana on top.

On the agenda for the day:

  • Laundry
  • Run
  • Pool
Good Saturday in my book. Not sure if I’ll do anything tonight. We’ll see! Sometimes I just love a lazy weekend! (Which is probably why I’ll be single forever. I kid, I kid.) Happy Weekend!
3 thoughts on “Quick Run.

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

