Comfort food.

Today I woke up still a little down about my toe. Luckily it didn’t throb as much last night but I still had trouble sleeping. Still nervous about Thursday what can I say! I’m a wimp, and I’m not afraid to say it! I knew I had to pick myself up, so I made myself a nice bowl of cereal to start my day. Cereal has always been comfort food to me, I seriously just love it.

In the mix:

  • 1/2 serving Kashi Cinnamon Harvest
  • 1/2 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch
  • 1 cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
  • frozen blueberries
  • half of a banana
  • chia seeds
It definitely gave me the energy to get going! I hopped in the shower, got ready for work, and sip on an iced coffee with stevia and almond milk on my way in (which might have helped with the perkiness.)
Work has been on the slower side lately, which I think makes me want to snack! I had the biggest sweet tooth today which I tried to tame. Mid morning I had a handful of almonds and dried fruit to take the edge off 😉
Lunch time came around and let me tell you I was excited. I took some of the buffalo chicken I made last night and put it right on top of a bed of spinach, with onions, olives, cucumbers, and a bit of low fat cheese. Let me just say YUM!
I sipped some iced tea on the side to beat the heat. 😉
Work kind of lingered this afternoon, but 5 o’clock finally came and I headed out the door. Holy crap, when did it get so hot in the DC Metro?!
Thank goodness for AC, or I would have melted! Traffic was worse than normally, it seemed like cars were overheating on the road left and right!
I got home and decided to try my luck on the bike at the gym since running is a no go until after my procedure on Thursday. 7 miles later my toe was ready to be done, so I hopped off and patted myself on the back for at least getting a little workout in. The bike at the gym is so boring! Thank goodness for the TVs on the monitors.
I’d love to buy a bike, but I am working on hopefully making a big move soon (more on that soon!) so I am trying to hold off on purchases that require transport.
I came up from the gym and decided to end my day as I started, with comfort food. I bought some turkey kalbasa a few days ago, so I put some in my cast iron, made some vegetarian baked beans, and some green beans, and called it dinner.
Comfort food to the max. My mom used to make this when I was a kid, but with real pork kalbasa and fatty baked beans. I love lightening up meals from when I was little, all the taste, but half the calories!
Speaking of half the calories, I ended my full day of eating (I blame the heat for all the snacking!) with a small cup of churned Neapolitan ice cream. 100 calories and 3 grams of fat in a serving. Not too shabby if you ask me 😀
The comfort food today definitely helped, but it didn’t mean I had to over indulge. It just means I had to be smart about how I looked at my comfort food. I’m soaking my toe again in Epsom salt and am about to shower and turn in for the night. Hopefully I can find something good on Netflix!
Hope all you East Coasters are surviving this heat!
4 thoughts on “Comfort food.

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

