Le weekend.

My weekend, despite it being longer than normal due to my toe surgery, went by too quickly as usual. Let’s do a quick review, shall we?

Saturday

1. Woke up, blogged, internet-ed and headed to Starbucks & Einstein Bagels for a quick breakfast for the roommate and me. She’s been so great from driving me to my surgery to wrapping my toe on a daily basis, I thought I’d treat her to breakfast on me. (Starbucks and bagels is a weekend tradition in this household!)

Ice soy skinny (2 pump) vanilla latte + bagel thin, asparagus, mushrooms, egg white and pepper jack cheese.

yum.

2. Headed to the pool to get some Vitamin D and a few rays. Read some of my book, The Non-Runner’s Marathon Guide for Women (Gotta keep myself motivated during these two weeks off, so I decided now was the perfect time to read the book to keep me pumped up!) So far, so good if you were wondering 🙂

notice the awesome eastern euro dude in the picture?!

3. Went on a short, 30-minute walk on the path near my apartment, to see how my toe would hold up. It was alright. Somewhat sore today. But glad I got to move a bit.

can't wear closed toed shoes for a few more days...

4. Showered, got dressed, headed to Ray’s Hell Burger (which is amazing, if you live in the DC area, go!, best burgers in town!) & then to a showing of Harry Potter (in 3D!) I loved the movie. I have read all the books, several times, and am not ashamed to call myself a huge fan. I went with a friend I’ve seen the last few movies with, so it was fun to chat about the movies afterwards over a beer at a bar nearby. I won’t ruin anything, but basically go see it. Now!

Turkey burger with sauteed onions, lettuce, & smoked mozzarella. Also had a few sweet potato fries on the side and maybe a beer or 2!

via

Overall, I had a pretty great Saturday if I do say so myself.

Today

1.  Woke up, had an easy breakfast, read some blogs, internet-ed some more.

Whole wheat waffles, PB, chia seeds, and fruit salad on the side...

..until I threw some kiwi on top for fun!

2. A few hours at the pool, more reading, an easy lunch, more sun until some clouds scared me away.

Sandwich thin, cucumbers, hummus, spinach, turkey, pepper jack cheese (+ a few Baked Lays on the side.)

3. Grocery shopped till I dropped then came home, had a snack and attempted to re-install Windows on my laptop. It half worked. Going to bring it in to work tomorrow and see if one of my guy friends can take a look 🙂 Thankfully I have my work laptop at home so I am not computerless!

Kashi cinnamon harvest + half banana + handful of blueberries + almond milk ( I was starving! I blame the sun!)

4. Cooked dinner, which took way longer than I suspected, and finally ate around 8:30pm! Thank goodness for my afternoon snack or I would have been dying! Also had a few bites of Neapolitan out of the container for a sweet fix.

Baked shells with turkey sausage, zuccini, mushrooms, onions, red pepper, onion, garlic stuffing + low-fat mozzarella & marinara on top. Salad on the side.

All in all it was a pretty good, laid back weekend, which is just what I needed with my toe not fully functioning yet. I hope this week to get some walks in and start a strength program since I can’t start running again until the doc says its okay, probably after my follow up appointment on the 28th. Wish me a speedy recovery! Hope no one has a case of the Mondays tomorrow…

5 thoughts on “Le weekend.

    • Well, I did the install okay, but it didn’t download some drivers automatically, specifically the wireless network adapter drivers, which are very important!

      • I am guessing you are upgrading to Windows 7. Click on the Start button and type Device Manager in the search box. Open Device Manager and expand Network Adaptors. See if any show up with a yellow bang on them. Now right click and try Updating Driver Software, see if they can be downloaded automatically this time around. If not, then google/bing the ” driver”. You should be able to find those available on the internet that you can manually download. After you download them, go back to Device Manager and select Update driver software and this time browse to the location where you downloaded the drivers. Hopefully that fixes the problem.

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

