Walk it out.

Okay I admit it, I might have had a slight, small case of the Mondays at work today. What can I say, its hard to go back into work mode after having four days off, even with toe surgery. I comforted my ‘pain,” with an apple and a spoonful (or two) of peanut butter on the side (directly from the jar of course) as an afternoon snack. PB and apple may be one of my favorite combos. So good.

When 5 o’clock hit I was out the door and in my car with the AC-a-blowing. It was a hot one out there today! My original plan was to go home, take a nice walk and then head back to make dinner, but I decided to switch up my plan once I felt the heat take over my body when exiting the building.

Dinner was a easy one tonight. Boca burgers, roasted sweet potato “chips” and steamed broccolini on the side.

Original boca + sauteed onions, mushrooms, spinach, avocado, thin slice of pepper jack and a dab of yogurt based caesar dressing on a thin.

I’ve had those Boca Burgers in my freezer for way to long, so when I was making my dinner list for the week, I decided it was time to break them out! Just as good as I remember. šŸ˜€

After dinner, I strapped on my sneakers, which I haven’t done since the toe surgery, and headed out for a nice 45 minute walk. My goal was to make it 60, but my toe started feeling a little funny around minute 40 or so and I was pretty close to my house at the time so I decided to turn in for the night a few minutes early. Don’t want to push it too soon and mess up my nail again!

It felt a bit strange my toe being inside a shoe, but it had to happen sooner or later, and the walk felt good overall. It was still quite hot when I went out, but not as bad as it would have been if I had gone around 5:30. And truth be told, it was a beautiful night in the neighborhood.

Don’t sprinklers make you feel like a kid? They do to me, I just want to run through them when I see them with a big, smile plastered against my face. (I didn’t tonight for the record, but I wanted to.)

I’m still going back and forth with whether or not to get up early and do strength training or to do it when I get home tomorrow. We shall see. Its almost 11 already, but its such a nice feeling when I get my workout in before the day begins.

On a side note, inĀ preparationĀ for my grand return to running, I am thinking I need to purchase a good pair of running shoes that have better arch support than my current ones.

What running shoes do you love to wear? Let me know!

3 thoughts on “Walk it out.

  1. Yum! That dinner looks delicious! I forget how much I love Bocas sometime! And PB & Apple is for sure one of my favorite combos also.

    My favorite running shoes are Nike Free Runs – I love them! I’m on my 2nd pair, and have trained for and ran a half-marathon in them… with zero discomfort! I have flat feet, so for me, that is quite the feat! They also have the little insert for my Nike+ pebble to track my runs! Highly recommend.

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

