Take me to my city by the Bay.

Almost two years ago I made a practically split second decision to move from the West Coast (Los Angeles) to the East Coast (DC). I had recently finished graduate school, and had an opportunity to move with my job (at the time) to their DC area location. I  thought it would be a great opportunity for myself and my boyfriend at the time career wise, and we went for it.

Well, now two years later, I am single, in a new job that I have definitely grown out of, and an urge to return West.

You see, I am a totally different person than I was two years ago. Singleness aside, I have grown so much as a person, and I realize that the career focused individual I was back then is not who I want to be. Don’t get me wrong, I have had an amazing experience that I will never forgot with my current job. I’ve traveled to 5 continents, (have not made it to Antarctica or Australia yet…) road tripped across The Sudan, ate guinea pig in Peru, tasted camel, smoked hubbly bubbly (hookah in the Middle East) and other countless amazing things. Things that have made me realize what life is all about. And while life is about traveling and experiencing new things, the day to days of my job, and the actualities of my job, are not what I want in life. (I know this sounds vague, and if you want specifics please feel free to email me.)

I want good family, good friends, good experiences, and happiness & health of course! And after a good long soul search, I think I can better do that back West, back near my family, back in a place where I just feel more me. So all that being said, I am actively searching for a job in California, specifically in the San Francisco/Bay Area. My hope is to move by December when my lease is up here, with two conditions. If I get a job earlier, I will just go, and take the loss (in rent,) or if I don’t get a job by the end of December I will just move, and press my luck.

via

For someone in DC, people around here sort of think I am crazy. Crazy to give up a job that does indeed provide such opportunities. But the thing is, my job is changing, my company is changing, and most importantly, I changed! And moreover, I am ready for a change in scenery.

I love San Francisco. I grew up a few hours south on the Central Coast, and have never actually lived in the city. My sister is there, my mom is there, I have friends there, and I am ready to start a new life, in a new city, with a support system built in.

So that being said, wish me luck, pass any jobs you may see in that area my way (it can’t hurt to ask right?!) and please, tell me I am not a crazy person (although if I am, this feels right, so I just don’t care!)

Where do you feel most at home? Where you are now? Or somewhere else?

12 thoughts on “Take me to my city by the Bay.

  1. This is amazing. Good for you!!!!!!! I quit my job about 5 years ago (and everyone said the same thing- you are CRAZY! You have such a cool job! Etc. Etc.). I wasn’t myself when I worked there. Sure, it was great- but I was miserable. I took a leap of faith and went to teacher’s college and changed my life around- now teaching and fitness instructing are my life and truly my loves. You are brave, courageous, and something amazing will happen for you! 🙂

  2. oh my gosh we are on the same wavelength. I decided a few months ago that california is just truly where I want to be. I have loved it every time and always felt an immediate connection with any place I have been there.

    I have a hubby who is 100% open to the idea, but at least 1 of us needs a job to make it work. So it’s scary and terrifing and I am putting it out there to the universe to hopefully make something happen!

  3. You go girl– Follow your heart and never let anybody tell you otherwise.
    I went through the majority of my life being told that I was going to be this “great attorney” and that law school was “right up my alley,” So many people kept telling me what I was MEANT to do that I started to listen to them and stopped listening to my own gut feeling.
    If you want to move, do it! Money is just money and a job is just a job.
    Your self-worth is much more valuable than any of that!

  4. Wow! Good for you! And obviously I fully support this as I LIVE in SF! Summer weather aside – this is where I feel home. I grew up outside the city so to have my family, friends, and roots all close by is all that I need. I went to school out of state and moved back immediately after.

    Excited to read about your next steps! Where are you searching for a job industry-wise?

  5. Hi there Jane! I currently live in the Bay Area and my roots are in the DC area – interesting, right? Anyway, I really commend you for having the courage to step away from a job that you know is no longer right for you and moving ahead. I think making that decision is the hardest part and you’ve already done that, so the right job will come along!

    I’m looking to move back East in the future, but I know that its not the right time or under the best circumstances to do that right now (my job is super promising here in the Bay), but like you, it just sort of “feels right”. Good luck and let me know if you need any help finding a position here in the Bay Area. I work in HR and may have some resources!

  6. Pingback: 7 Links. | Broccolini + Cheese

  7. Pingback: First up, 5K. | Broccolini + Cheese

  8. Pingback: Leap of Faith. | Broccolini + Cheese

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

