Oh the insanity.

This morning I woke up bright and early and did Stage 1 Workout A of NROLFW. What’s that you say? I was suppose to do it yesterday. Oh yes, you would be right. But I in fact did not do it yesterday because yesterday I decided to play hooky and go to Happy Hour with a coworker. Sometimes you just need to let loose, and after yesterday at work, I sure did!

Let’s back things up shall we?

Yesterday’s Breakfast

Oats, flax seed, chia seeds, half a banana, blueberries plus milk.

I’m obsessed with blueberries right now. They are so sweet and tangy! Yum, yum, yum!

Yesterday’s Lunch

What is this you ask? Baked shell filling (from Sunday’s dinner) + broccoli. Wasn’t feeling the actual shells 🙂 So I heated it up and mixed it all together…

Yes it looks somewhat gross, but in actuality it was pretty darn good!

Lunch was rounded out with a plum on the side.

Yesterday’s Afternoon Snack

Apple & PB. ‘Nuff said.

Yesterday’s Dinner

Now this is where things get tricky, and by tricky, I mean for real gross! As I said, after work I went to Happy Hour with a co-worker. I had one three of these…

Miller light… plus a small piece basil cheese. (Yes, it’s as good as it sounds for the record.)

Yes, this may be the worst picture ever. But you get the point...

By the time I got home around 9:30 I was STARVING. I poked my head in the freezer, saw my roommate’s Lean Pocket (chicken, mushroom + wild rice) and dug in. (After asking permission of course.)

Gross, gross, gross, Jane!

Oh the insanity. Why did I eat this. It made me feel awful! I have not had processed foods in so long at this level. I went to bed with a stomach ache. It could have been worse I suppose, and it could have been a Hot Pocket! 😉

I pledged to get up workout and have a good, healthy day to make up for it! (And to say sorry to my tummy!) So far, so good. As I said, I got up did my strength training. Overall the first day was pretty good.

Stage 1, Workout A includes:

  • Squats with Barbell –> Started at 10lbs on each side plus the bar! I definitely felt it!
  • Push-ups –> Did these “lady” style (aka on my knees) since I definitely cannot be on my toe!
  • Seated row –> I think 35lbs but I have to check…. yes, I am a weight newbie!
  • Step-ups with weights
  • Prone Jack Knife –> I did regular sit-ups this time since I think it may have been hard on my toe.
It went by quick! Two reps of each exercise and then you are done! I can definitely do this plus a walk (or run when I get the doc’s a-okay!) and it will be a good workout! Or I can divide up for a short, quick AM workout. I love that!
Breakfast this morning was more oats! Chocolate protein PB oats to be exact.

  • Oats
  • 1/2 tbsp flax seed
  • 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 scoop chocolate protein powder
  • 1 tbsp(ish) dark chocolate PB
  • blueberries
  • FF milk
Oats normally leave me full, but this left me FULL in a good way. I’ve been good all morning, no grumblings in my stomach. My tummy is definitely happier with me!
I’m off to Whole Foods in a bit for a trip to their awesome salad bar for lunch and to pick up some more blueberries (and who knows what else!) because I ran out this morning and this is not okay in my blueberry loving book.
Happy Hump Day! 😀

 

 

5 thoughts on “Oh the insanity.

  1. Yum, yum, yum! Looks good!
    Word of the day for you: NUTELLA.
    Go get you some, girrrlll! Sooo yummy!
    PB is kinda sticky/gooey, so I don’t really eat it. I use chocolatey hazelnutty NUTELLA. Awesome on apples. And banana bread. And pancakes/waffles/crepes. And cake frostings. And spoons. YUM. YUM. YUMMM!

  2. Try Justin’s Maple Almond Butter in your oats – will change your life! 🙂

    I get the SAME way now whenever I eat overly processed foods! I guess that’s a good thing though? Mean’s our stomachs are used to clean foods? Haha at least that’s what I tell myself!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

