TGIF.

This week was longgg. Probably something to do with the fact that the last few weeks I haven’t had to work the full 5 days between the 4th of July and my toe surgery, but I am thanking my lucky stars that it is finally the weekend. Work has been hec-tic, so I am looking forward to a little relaxation and rejuvenation this weekend. (Read: POOL time.)

Yesterday after my delicious cake lunch, I did some work, and eventually nibbled on some fruit and a Lara Bar.

Peach, plum...

I had not tried Cinnamon Roll before, and it was pretty tasty! I love Larabars, and I find myself either in the mood for a Lara or a Luna but never both at the same time.

I headed home after work and started dinner. I had chicken and zucchini to work with, and since I was not about to go outside and grill in the 100 degree heat, I decided to Google ‘chicken and zucchini recipes’ to see what I could find.

I found a recipe on Real Simple that looked both easy to make and really tasty: Feta Chicken with Zucchini. I added some fresh garlic to the recipe and since I didn’t have fresh parsley I used a mix of dried parsley, thyme and tarragon. I used Fat Free Feta (since it was all I had) and topped the dish with a little fresh, grated parmesan on top. It was the perfect, light, lemony, summer dish. I will definitely make this one-dish meal again.

After dinner I went on a nice, hour long walk, with a big bottle of water. It was still HOT out but I figure a walk wouldn’t kill me, especially since I went prepared. So glad I brought that water, it was needed! I came back as sweaty as I would have if I ran on a normal temperature day out.

This morning I woke up late, (I turned off my alarm in my sleep 😦 ) so no strength training this AM. Probably a good thing because I somehow developed this huge blister on my bad toe which needed to be taken care of. Ouch. My toe must have told my mind to shut the alarm off, right?

I rushed to get ready, and thankfully had time to eat a good breakfast.

 

 

 

 

It was way too much, but it was delicious. 1 cup cereal (2 kashis), blueberries, strawberries, 1/2 banana, chia seeds, and Greek yogurt. Perfect way to begin my Friday!

For lunch a few co-workers and I decided to go to freshii for lunch to get some big salads. I can’t really think of anything else I would have wanted for lunch on such a hot day! (It even looks hot outside!)

I made my own BBQ-esque salad with BBQ chicken (of the BBQ variety of course,) avocado, black beans, mushrooms, onions, cucumber, carrots, and some other fun stuff. It was perfect! Totally satisfying.

I am off to grab a drink with some co-workers and then will probably just head home for the night. We shall see. TGIF everyone!

 

3 thoughts on “TGIF.

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

