Fro-YES!

My oh my, where has the day gone? Today has been super crazy at work! This is the first second I have had to myself! I woke up this morning LATE! I mean super late. Have to leave in 10 minutes late. Luckily I had showered the night before, so I threw some clothes on, threw some food in a bag and headed out the door.

But I am getting ahead of myself, aren’t I. Let’s talk about Sunday. Oh Sunday, how I miss you so much. I love Sundays. I usually don’t try to plan much on Sundays, I usually just go with the flow. I love waking up in the morning, making a simple, tasty breakfast and try to just lounge around for a bit before deciding on my ‘to dos’ for the day.

I decided on a Whole Wheat English Muffin with White Chocolate Peanut Butter + Chia seeds, with berries on the side. Easy yet delicious. A great combo in my book.

I relaxed on the couch for a while, and decided to start some laundry, and clean up around the apartment a bit. Around noon my roommate and I headed out to run errands – on the agenda lunch, Target, grocery store + Trader Joe’s! We decided to get in all in at once so we could get it over with.

Lunch was at Einstein Bagel’s. I got a BLT with Avocado on a Bagel Thin with Turkey Bacon instead of regular. (Picture = too blurry to post.) It was okay. The guy making it forgot the sun dried tomato spread so it was a bit bland. C’est la vie. I got a Iced Skinny Vanilla Latte from Starbucks to make up for my bland sammie and to get a little caffeine in before our massive shopping trip.

After running around like mad women, we headed back to apartment to organize our goodies. Just basics and groceries, but all needed! I snacked on a Luna Bar and a small piece of Port Salute cheese (one of my favorites) and let it digest a bit before heading the gym to finally do Stage 1 Workout B of NROLFW.

NROLFW Stage 1 Workout B consists of 5 strength exercises:

  • Dead lift (2 x 15 reps @ 40lbs – you are suppose to use a barbell, but my gym does not have one that is not attached to a machine, so I used two 20lb weights)
  • Dumbbell Shoulder Press (2 x 15 reps @ 10lbs each hand)
  • Wide-grip lat pull down (2 x 15 reps @ 50lbs)
  • Lunge (2 x 15 reps @ 10lbs in each hand – 20lbs total)
  • Swiss ball crunch ( 2 x 8 reps – I did 15 reps each time on accident.)
Its a short, compact workout, but I sure am feeling it today. Which in Jane terms means it must be working… right?!
After my workout it was a bit early but I decided to start dinner. I sauteed up asparagus, mushrooms, peppers, onions + garlic plus lots of spices and a little olive oil in a pan and added in some garlic chicken + Gruyere sausage. I boiled some whole wheat rotini and mixed it all together calling it a quick and easy dinner.
I think I subconsciously made dinner quite early because I had been craving FroYo all week. SO many bloggers out there talking about how good its been, and I just discovered a shop by me that I have been wanting to try. Early dinner means more dessert, right?!
The roommate and I headed to Yogiberry which is located in Shirlington. It’s almost as good as Yogurtland, but not quite! I decided to get a mix of Cake Batter and Oreo with a lot of fruit on top + a bit of almond slivers and mini chips.
It hit the spot. So good! I don’t think I have had froyo in about a year (I know) so I was happy to have it in my belly again 🙂
Thank goodness Sunday was so great, because we are back to Monday now, and today has been a real kick in the butt! Lots of work, lots of meetings, and lots of realizing that I need to start upping my employment applications so I can get to the West Coast ASAP.
This post is long enough, so I’ll be back later with today’s eats. I’m heading home to get a workout in (T-3 days till I know if I can start running again!)
Do you like froyo? What’s your favorite combo?
I personally LOVE getting Reese’s PB Cups on top, but they didn’t have any last night! Probably a good thing 😉
3 thoughts on “Fro-YES!

  1. Another great dinner recipe I might just have to copy of you 🙂 I pretty much like any soft serve frozen yogurt (I am not picky). My favorite choices are TCBY’s chocolate with peanut butter cups (it must be a Jane thing 😉 and Red Mango’s plain yogurt with berries.

  2. Oh, it all looks so good! It better start getting warm here soon because I am craving fresh berries like crazy. Anything peanut butter flavoured for dessert is good with me!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

