Overnight OIAJ.

Yesterday’s breakfast was a first here at Broccolini + Cheese, yesterday I had my first, ever Overnight Oats! While I had OIAJ once before, this is the first time I let them sit overnight which, in my first timer’s opinion, really makes all the difference.

The night before I added:

  • 5 oz FF Honey Greek Yogurt
  • 1/2 cup FF milk
  • (almost) 1/2 cup Oats
  • Blueberries
  • Half a banana
  • 1/2 tbsp Flax Seed
  • 1/2 tbsp Chia Seed
  • Last bit of (not-so-great) PB
Wow, was this good! I added a little TJ Low Fat Vanilla Almond Granola on top for a bit of a crunch since I didn’t really know what to expect or if I’d enjoy the cold oats, but it was so good. The flavors all mixed together and I was left full and satisfied all morning long. 
Around lunchtime I realized that the lunch I had brought in on Friday of last week that I was playing on eating was not looking smelling too good. My office doesn’t really have that many options that are super convenient to get to, park at, etc, so I ended up going to Subway. I felt like I was just there, but I suppose this was a lunch sandwich and last time I got a breakfast sandwich so its totally different… right? 😉
The last lady I had at Subway was quite stingy with her vegetables, so i was glad this lady packed them in there. I had turkey, pepper jack, and lots of veggies including a scoop of avocado with a little oil and vinegar on top.
As I have mentioned, and not to be a Debbie Downer, but work has been insane on so many levels lately. So when I got back from lunch and saw someone had made cupcakes, I figured why not.
There weren’t too big, but it definitely was a small little perk for my day. (As are my pink post-it notes that I was nice enough to share with the cupcake.) A little while later into the afternoon, my sweet tooth was back, as it always is after I have sweets, so I cut myself up some mango to battle my sweet too with fruit! This mango was awesome, in fact, dare I say better than the cupacke. I ate it before snapping up a photo, but have more so I’ll be sure to share what kind they are, because it was have been the best mango I’ve ever had. (Bold statement right there, people.)
I got home from work and headed down to the gym and hopped on the elliptical to see how my toe would handle it. It’s been almost 2 weeks since the surgery, and while the doc said no running until he cleared me, (possibly tomorrow,) I decided the elliptical would be okay.  Call me crazy, but I just do not like the elliptical. It is really boring in my book! I stayed on for just over 20 minutes until my toe started to burn. At this point, I think its more the sweat going into the wound the the toe itself, but I suppose I will know more tomorrow. I did some floor work, stretches and abs, before calling it quits for the night.
For dinner I made a new recipe by roommate found in Fitness Magazine: Corn and Quinoa Salad with Chicken Sausage.
It turned out really well. The salad consists of quinoa, corn, zucchini, yellow squash, red bell pepper and onion with a lemon, EVOO dressing. You are suppose to put cumin in it, but I didn’t have any so I just added a few extra spices in there (think oregano, thyme, etc) and it was delicious. Very summery and fresh tasting.
After a long day at work, I definitely need one two of these as well.
After dinner I watched some Sex & the City before headed to bed. I have been super tired lately, which may be due to the fact that I’ve unintentionally lowered my caffeine intake (iced coffee just hasn’t sounded that great lately! I know the insanity.)
This morning I woke up and had an oldie but goodie for breakfast. Two waffles, two PBs (dark chocolate on one, white chocolate on the other) plus banana and chia seeds on top, with an iced coffee on the side. Hopefully this gives me a little more energy throughout my day today!
At work now, so I must go! But I leave you with an important question:
What’s your favorite way to make Overnight OIAJ?
6 thoughts on “Overnight OIAJ.

  1. My overnight oat recipe is pretty similar, except I add my yogurt the day after. I don’t really know why I– I just learned to do it that way haha 🙂

  2. I’m not a huuuge cold oats lover (I like it right off the stove top) but I tried overnight oats for the first time today and I LOVED it! I added a sliced banana to steel cut oats that I had mixed with some brown sugar, honey and a bit of butter (clearly in the mood for something sweet!) It was great!

  3. Pingback: Hungry, hungry hippo. | Broccolini + Cheese

  4. Pingback: 7 Links. | Broccolini + Cheese

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

