Hungry, hungry hippo.

I am not sure why but I was so hungry yesterday. I woke up starving and ate a good sized breakfast with whole grains, peanut butter and chia seeds, but by 11:30 my stomach was grumbling, and I already wanted lunch. I waited it out until noon, as I was in the middle of some things at work, and heated up the lunch I had brought in of leftovers from Sunday night’s dinner. Veggie whole wheat pasta with chicken sausage.

(I know, how pretty are these Tupperware containers? Note to self: buy pretty plate and bowl for work as to not blind anyone with my Tupperware sets ;))

I added a little hot sauce on top to give it some zest. Actually, I had some hot sauce in a tiny tub on the side and dipped my fork in and then dipped for fork into the pasta. I know, genius right? Not too much hot sauce, but just enough. I am sure you were all dying to know that little tid bit. Moving along.

As I said, all day yesterday, hungry, hungry hippo. Not too long after I had finished lunch, maybe around 2pm I’d say I was starving again. I rummaged around my snack drawer, which is mostly filled with tea, which are hardly snacks, and found a bag of 100 calorie popcorn. Threw that baby in the microwave, cut up a peach and called it a snack.

(Pretend the peach, which was delicious I might add, is sitting right next to the popcorn in this picture.)

More and more work later it was time to leave work and I realized again that I was starving. Famished one might say. I am never like this for the record so I don’t know if it was that I was super busy all day and my brain was demanding subsistence or what, but as soon as I walked in the door, I dropped any idea of going to the gym, and made some guacamole to be eaten with one lovely glass of Chardonnay.

I had a serving of the Reduced Guilt White Corn Tortilla Chips from TJs with some guac and salsa. I had not had these chips before and while they are okay, real tortilla chips are just so much better. I think it has to do with the crunch. Would I rather have reduced guilt tortilla and a glass of wine instead of just regular tortillas? Oh you betcha!

My roommate came home ecstatic that I had made guac and happily ate some of it as well. The avocado was on the brink of badness anyways, so I suppose you could call it guacamole fate. (Yes, it exists and its a beautiful thing.)

A while after guacamole madness, I threw dinner in the oven. We were having a friend over, so I decided that the 1/3 of the guacamole we had left would probably not satisfy her dining needs.

I made a pork tenderloin baked with apples with steamed broccoli and whole wheat cous-cous on the side. It was unfortunately not the best pork I have ever made, so its good there were sweet, baked apples on the side to make up for it. I tried to take a picture and somehow failed which is fine as I also couldn’t get through my plate because I was, gasp, still feeling okay after my chip and dip fest.Oh well, in the fridge it went for a potential meal down the road. Even though it was just okay. Let’s be honest, it will probably get thrown away in my Sunday refrigerator cleaning fest, but a girl can try, right?

A few SATC’s later and a show I am watching on Netflix that I’ve decided I am too embarrassed to share with you (yes its that bad, no I am not being dramatic) guess who was knocking at my door again with grumbles? If you guessed my stomach, you were correct.

I sat in bed wondering for a while if I should just fight through the grumbles and go to sleep, or if I should make myself a small snack. I decided to go ahead and get a snack, small bowl of Honey Sunshine Kashi with a splash of milk.

The snack was probably less that 150 calories, and left me feeling content. I’m still not sure if I should have eaten that cereal or not. Although I am not sure should is the word I want to use.

So let me ask you this: Are bedtime snacks a yea or a nay in your book? Why or why not? I’ve been known to not have one even though I may be hungry or, like last night, get up and have a small snack.  Let me know!

7 thoughts on “Hungry, hungry hippo.

  1. Bedtime snacks are a yay! If my tummy is honestly hungry I eat a little healthy something. The trick is knowing what to eat

  2. That pasta looks so good! 🙂
    And as for bedtime snacks, I say yes and yay!
    But for me, it all depends on what and why I’m eatng–if I’m hungry and going for a small bowl of cereal or a maybe some toast, it’s cool! but if i’m just bored and staring at some cake? I try to go to bed haha 🙂

    • Okay, I added Broccolini + Cheese on my blog roll, but I’m new to this and I don’t know how to link it correctly haha but I didn’t know if it was protocol to tell the people of the page’s you linked to! so just fyi! 🙂

      • Thank you! I was just thinking today that I needed to make a blog roll. I’ll be sure to save you a spot on it! So glad you found my blog!

  3. I usually don’t do bedtime snacks, more like bedtime sweets haha! Right before I turn is is usually when, if I haven’t had dessert all day, my body decides I have to have it! I try to keep it small though. I really don’t like going to sleep on a stuffed tummy!

  4. I get hungry days like this too, where I keep eating and eating, and my body demands more food. It usually follows a couple of days of under-eating. When I burn a lot more calories than you consume, either through extra physical activity or eating low-calorie meals, my body freaks out and thinks I am going to starve it from now on, so it sends constant “feed me” messages to my brain. You just have to give in and feed it so it comes down and knows there is plenty of food available. So snack away Janie! 🙂

  5. Pingback: 7 Links. | Broccolini + Cheese

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

