Everybody sleep, sleep, sleep.

Last night I went to bed quite late. We are talking almost midnight here people. I know, I am old, and consider (almost) midnight to be a late bedtime when my wake-up call is 7:00am. The strange thing about it is though is most mornings I wake up and have to peel myself out of bed, but this morning I woke up, naturally, at 6:30am feeling pretty darn good. Something to think about I suppose.

I read a bit about sleeping today, specifically oversleeping,  and how much sleep one needs. Most websites seem to say 7-9 hours for adults, but there were lots of interesting theories.

via

So I am putting it out there. How much sleep do you need to feel rested?

I think I am between 7 + 8 but its something worth experimenting with perhaps.

After I woke up this morning I decided to join the cool kid’s club and have some Lemon Choboni for breakfast. Everyone seems to be in love with this flavor, so I figured I’d give it a shot.

It was pretty delish! I still love the honey flavor the best I think, but the lemon was actually refreshing for yogurt. A word I never thought I’d used to describe yogurt in fact. I paired my yogurt with:
* 1/3 cup Trader Joe’s Low Fat Vanilla Almond Granola
* 1/3 cup Kashi Go Lean Crunch
* Strawberries
* Blueberries
* 1/2 banana
* 2 tsp Chia seeds

Filling, fruity, and patriotic fun. I used to eat breakfast once I got to work, but I have found that taking the time to eat in the morning and take a little me time, really slows the pace down of my morning and really puts me in a good mood before heading out the door. Sometimes it’s the little things. 😀

Work was moving slow this morning and around 10:30am I decided a little treat was in order. I keep a fruit bowl of sorts on my desk with fresh picks, and a mango was calling my name. Mangoes have been awesome this season. Fresh, ripe, sweet and juicy.

I sliced it up and dug in while typing away at this and that. So good.

Lunch time approached fast and I headed to the office fridge to grab the other half of my panini and broccoli salad from yesterday. I put the panini in the microwave for a few minutes, and it was (almost) as good as yesterday.

The broccoli salad was definitely better than yesterday though. It had time to sit and get all tasty.

My co-worker took a late lunch and brought me back a little treat around 2:00 or so. A vanilla Frosty. I do not think I have had a Frosty in about three years or something, and have never had a vanilla one. It was the perfect afternoon indulgence. Usually I have dessert after dinner, but today I had it before. 🙂

I headed home from work and headed to the gym for a quick run. After yesterday’s first trip back on the treadmill after my toe surgery, today I felt ready to push it a little more. I hopped on the treadmill and ran a mile at 10:54. Slowed down and walked .25 miles, then ran another .25 miles at 10:00 (which is fast for this girl,) and finished out by walking until 20 minutes was up. Just a quick workout, followed by some stretching. Better than nothing. I don’t want to over do my toe, and I know I need to ease into running. I have been reading a lot of tips, and after my vacation next week I am going to get back on some kind of schedule, so that I continue to increase my mileage and speed. I am still new to running. But I am really loving it. I love how I feel after a short run, so I can only imagine how good I feel after a long run.

I got back from the gym, and realized that I had nothing planned for dinner. I scrounged around the refrigerator and found some turkey meatballs from Trader Joe’s in the freezer, spaghetti sauce, whole wheat pasta, red bell pepper, mushrooms and onion, so I threw everything on the stove and made it for dinner.

It’s been so hot, but luckily the AC works well in my apartment and it was a nice comfort meal. A little sprinkle of fresh Parmesan on top and dinner was served. Would have like to have more veggies in there, so I guess a big salad is in order tomorrow! And perhaps a little dinner planning.

I’m off to watch some more Mad Men. Sweet dreams! Don’t oversleep 😉

PS: Can you name the song that the post title is taken from? An oldie but a goodie!

4 thoughts on “Everybody sleep, sleep, sleep.

  1. I sleep anywhere from 5-8 hours a night, but what it really boils down to is how much sleep I’ve gotten in the nights prior. If I have two consecutive days of 5 hour sleep time, I am DONE.

  2. I don’t know that song!! I feel like I should! What is it? I usually need a good 7-8 hours to feel well rested. Anything more/less and I usually feel pretty groggy.

    That bowl of yogurt looks incredible!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

