So much better.

Wow. I am so blown away by all the kindness and words of wisdom many of you left me yesterday. Sometimes exactly what you need to hear others can provide, and let me tell you all, your words helped! I am feeling so much better today (which could partly be due to the fact that I am going on vacation tomorrow,) and am back in planning mode, and back to being positive!

While I am out of town, I will have a few special guest posts, which just so happy to fit perfectly with where I am at in my journey to a better me. I have “previewed” these posts, if you will, and they have given me some great advice. I am going to set up some posts to go out as a follow on to their guests post, so even though I will be on the beach, I will get a few posts in, and I will have a great plan once I get back from Cape Cod.

While on vacation, I plan on getting in some exercise and I plan on making healthy choices, but I am definitely going to splurge and have some drinks and most importantly relax. Because I am listening to my mind and body and it is telling me relaxation is what I really need! I hope to come back from the Cape, refreshed, relaxed, and with a plan that I will and can stick to!

After ‘putting it out there‘ last night, I headed home from work and hit the gym. I did 1.5 miles of mostly running and a little walking on the treadmill for a warm up and then planned on doing NROLFW Stage 1 Workout A, but some guy was bogaarding the area. (The gym I use is in my apartment building, so its small. It’s equipped. But it’s small. That sounds dirty…)

I decided to head upstairs to my apartment and do some weights on my own. I have 10lb weights (I think, maybe I should weigh them,) so I did my own little strength routine:
* 2 x 15 Squats with weights
* 2 x 15 Lunges with weights
* 2 x 15 Chest flys
* 2 x 15 Seated Rows (which didn’t work out too well without a machine)
* 30 crunches
* 50 bicycle crunches

I think that was it. I didn’t write it down. Conclusion: following the plan is much better, and I need to do them in the AM so that no one has taken over the machines. Better than nothing though, so there is that! (And the chest flys definitely worked, my arms are a tad sore today!)

When I got back to my apartment I realized that I had literally nothing in the house that I could make for dinner, unless I defrosted chicken and ate it with maybe a can of beans. No veggies, no nothing! This is a good thing since I am about to go on vacation but a bad thing after a workout!

The roommate and I decided to order from Lost Dog Cafe, which as I have said before is my favorite pizza place in Arlington. I decided to order a personal size Catahoula, with whole wheat crust, and a garden salad.

It was very, very tasty. What I love about the pizza’s from Lost Dogs is that they feel homemade. Natural, fresh ingredients. Not too much cheese. A very balanced pizza!

I had two slices and a bunch of greens on the side. And a glass of Riesling. It’s been that kind of week, as I think you were all fully aware of!

I decided to end my day by setting myself up for a great morning. If you guessed I made Overnight OIAJ you were right. I woke up this morning already in a better mood knowing my breakfast was going to be awesome and healthy.

In the jar:
* Last bit of Vermont Peanut Butter Avalanche (White chocolate PB – holy yum best peanut butter I have ever had. Seriously.)
* 1/2 cup oats
* 1/2 tbsp chia seeds
* 1/2 tbsn flax seeds
* 1/2 banana
* 1/2 cup Almond milk
* 1/2 cup Chobani Vanilla Greek Yogurt

Added on top:
* Sprinkle of TJ Low Fat Vanilla Almond Granola
* A couple of strawberries

Yum, yum yum. So good.  Work this morning has flown by and as I type this I am eating my lunch, which means on;y 4 more hours until vacation! Lunch was a tuna salad that I was given for free! The tuna was a bit mayo-y, but I made it work. Perhaps I should suggest they make it with plain Greek yogurt in the future? 😉

I am going to try to squeeze in one more post before I leave tomorrow! Happy Friday!

5 thoughts on “So much better.

  1. Glad you’re feeling better! 🙂
    I really need to try this overnight oatmeal thing. I just recently found out about it between your blog and one or two others. When I can afford to REALLY grocery shop again, it’s in my top 5 things to get ingredients for.

  2. I just came across your blog and I can totally relate about toe problems! I had the whole nail removed once… and then I had to get the sides permanently cut out a few years later. Not a fun experience.

    Anyways, I hope you have a fun vacation!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

