Vacation Hangover.

It’s been 5 days since I got back from Cape Cod, and I still have a vacation hangover. While I am trying to get back on track, let me tell you, it has not been easy. Symptoms of my vacation hangover include, but are not limited to, being hungry, lazy, sleepy, and not on my game this week. (Side note: vacation pictures coming this weekend, see symptom #3 of lazy for explanation.)

I could get mad at myself for not being 100% healthy this week like I planned or I could just let it all go to hell, but instead, I am trying to give myself a break. What I realized is, is that vacation hangover is a very serious thing. Okay, not that serious, but serious enough that when I googled it, I found out that I am not even the person to originally coin the term. (And just when I thought I was pretty clever too…)

So even though I have had wine + beer this week twice, only cheese + bread for dinner one night, and a several handfuls of M&Ms this afternoon for a snack, I have also eaten a healthy breakfast everyday this week (well, the egg white flat bread from DD was questionable but…), worked out twice, (which means I skipped yesterday’s workout but I’ll make up for it on Friday,) and have not been hiding in my bed crying to go back to the Cape at all this week. So all in all, not too bad.

I think I will instate a new post-vacation-week-transition-week-rule (does that even make sense?)  that as long as my healthy choices are approximately at 50-50, then I am a-okay for the week.

It’s all about balance right? And it’s definitely about not beating yourself up over decisions that you make when you are not 100%. So like any transitional period, you just got to do the best you can, live life to the fullest and have a Coconut Iced Coffee here + there, and you will be a-okay.

___________________________

Today I got to work late. It may have had something to do with the fact that my boss pulled me out of work yesterday at 3:00pm to join him and some colleagues at the bar down the street. This led to several beers + me inviting myself over to my friend’s house for dinner afterwards tempting them with a bottle of wine. Who do I think I am? A 21 year old sorority girl again? Nope. Dinner was delicious though. Homemade broccoli and beef, with cheese and fruit as an appetizer. I have good cooks friends, what can I say? (No pictures, too many of said beers to remember to do such a thing. It’s all about being honest here, right? Right?)

Driving to work today all I wanted was a big bagel with cream cheese. But I knew that what I really needed was some Greek yogurt, fruit, granola + chia seeds. I tried to make it pretty, to make me want it as much as that bagel. That didn’t work exactly as it’s not an exact science, but it was tasty and made me feel better (along with the Advil.)

By lunch I was starving, this happens when I have both vacation hangovers + real hangovers, so I knew what needed to be done. I headed to Potbelly to get my sandwich on.

I had a multi-grain sandwich thin with roast beef, cheddar cheese, lots of veggies + a little oil and Italian seasoning, with a small side of coleslaw (I saw it and had to eat it. Strange but true.)

Want to know another strange thing? I only like tomatoes sometimes. Today, I decided I don’t like them. Who knows if I will tomorrow. We shall see.

Do you ever give yourself a transition period after a vacation? Why or why not?

If you could vacation anywhere, right now, where would you go? I’d go to Bora Bora. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Vacation Hangover.

  1. It’s good to transition back slowly. I typically come back from vacations a few days before I have to go back to work so that I can have some down time.

    I’m not feeling all that inspired, so Bora Bora sounds good to me! Or Fiji–it looked pretty awesome on the Bachelorette!

  2. Oh man, transition period. Ouch. 😛 Usually after I get back from vacation, I get right back into my same routine. The next morning, I wake up, workout, eat my normal breakfast, etc etc because if I pro-long getting back into my routine..it’s just makes it that much harder.

    Vacation anywhere? MAUI!! take me back please!!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

