Leap of Faith.

Holy crap. Just writing leap of faith as this posts’ title is almost giving me an anxiety attack. As some of you may be aware, I decided a while ago that a big move needed to happen in my life. A big move, cross country, to San Francisco. My timeline was to originally move either by the end of the year (when my lease was up) or when I got a job.

I have been very open and honest about this with my roommate. If I got a job earlier than our lease being over I told her I would have continued to pay my rent until it was up, and since my mom + sister live in the city, I have a place to stay while I am in transition.

Well, last night, my roommate told me that if I move by the end of September or so that one of her friend’s would be willing to do a sublease with me for the remainder of my lease. Meaning I would have no financial ties to my apartment, meaning I could move earlier without a job lined up. But holy crap. Could I do this? Could I pull it off?

While I have been applying to jobs and do have a few strong leads, the process of finding a job when you are not living in the city is hard! A number of times I have had great phone interviews but when they find out I’m not on their coast, I can hear the discouragement in their voices.

My heart is telling me to just do it. Take a leap of faith. I can stay with my mother while I find a job (so no rent,) I am sure I can at least find a waitress job very fast while I am looking for a full-time job, and I know that this is what I want. But its fast! Nothing is for sure. And this would be the biggest leap of faith I’ve ever taken.

Am I crazy to think this is a good idea? Am I crazy to just go? Because I am thinking this is a crazy, good idea that if I don’t do I will regret. I know if I work hard, pursue all the leads I have and budget well, I can make this work. I am going to speak with my roommate tonight to make 100% sure that her friend is 100% committed, and then make a final decision soon. Soon as in like tomorrow! AHH.

What would you do? 

__________________________________

I decided that with all this news and the fact that I did not sleep much at all because of this news and my brain working triple time, to take a personal day. I had a long weekend anyways, so I think it is definitely justifiable. 🙂 Don’t tell on me!

Since I was actually home this morning and had time to make something tasty for breakfast I decided to make an egg sandwich. Yum!

It was fast, easy, and most importantly delicious. I made a the egg patty out of 1 egg + 2 egg whites plus spinach with a small piece of pepper jack cheese and a piece of turkey bacon on top. Placed in the middle of a sandwich thin, it was an awesome breakfast. A plum on the side, that I didn’t actually eat. I was full!

Today I am going to get organized, see if I can figure out this big move and get my butt to the gym!

Have you ever taken a leap of faith?

12 thoughts on “Leap of Faith.

  1. Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!! Exciting, Nerve Wracking, Ridiculous, Riveting!!!! So excited for you 🙂 If I had no ties, I would so do it. I used to work for Under Armour and when I went to their head office in Baltimore, I really noticed that a lot of people move far away in the USA. They follow their heart, job, BF, BFF, or which weather they like the best. I think it’s awesome!!!

  2. I took that exact same leap of faith 4 years ago. I grew up west of D.C. and decided to join my Fiance (then boyfriend) in the SF Bay Area. It was the biggest leap of faith I’ve ever taken. I didn’t have a job lined up. I had a place to stay, but I also had student loans, a car payment, and credit card debt from college to take care of. I left a job in VA that I happened to be doing really well at and just jumped. It was scary. It was terrifying to be exact, but I felt like it was where I’m supposed to be (despite the fact that I’m just dying to get back to the East Coast after four years of living here). I think you should use the sign of the friend wanting to sublease as a sign that it’s your time to take this chance.

    I tried doing phone interviews while living back East, but I also found that it was much easier to find a job in person. Within three weeks of living in CA, I found a great job and one year later, I found my current one…so its possible! Do this: flip a coin. One side is staying in VA for a while the other is move to CA. While that coin is being tossed, you’ll secretly know which one you are rooting for. Do that one 🙂

  3. I’ve never moved cross country but in the right situation (like yours!) I think I would jump at the chance (I’m also a very impulsive person!) Go for it! And you’ll get here just in time for SF’s summer in Sept/Oct!

  4. LEAP! My bf and I dated for about 4 years or so in Florida, and then he moved to TX for work. We split up just before he moved and dated other people in our respective states. About a year later we met up during the holidays and decided to give long distance a shot. After a few months, he told me he was buying a house and asked me if I would come to TX and move in with him. I thought long and hard. I loved my job and had amazing friends in Florida but it was really expensive and wasn’t truly happy with my life, esp being in a long-distance relationship. So once my lease was up, I took a deep breath and moved my life out to Austin, TX.

    Best. Decision. Ever. If I didn’t get that push, who knows how long I’d be in Florida for. I came without a job, and it was tough, especially since I didn’t have any connections in Austin. My bf traveled all over the country for work, so he never had the opportunity to network in the city, therefore couldn’t introduce me to anyone either. It was tough, but I figured it out and I’m glad I didn’t drag my feet on it.

    Your roommate giving you that “out” is HUGE, and I definitely think you should take advantage 🙂 It will help a lot with the interviewing process and will most likely open more doors for you if you are in-state vs staying where you are through the end of your lease. Good luck! 🙂

  5. Pingback: 5K:W2 | Broccolini + Cheese

  6. Wow! That sounds like quite the opportunity 🙂

    I’m ALL about taking (mindful) chances and leaps of faith. If you have nothing holding you back, why stay!? Life isn’t going to change until you make it.
    I took a leap of faith when I moved up to Orlando for school three years ago. Although I DID have a support system back home and I was attending school, it was tough for me to get out of that whole “comfort zone” mentality and let go.

    Am I glad that I did it? 100% yes. It was a life changing experience that has molded me into who I am today.

  7. I took a leap of faith with this new job and I can absolutely positively say I haven’t looked back. Although I’m totally in limbo and transitioning right now, it feels so right and so good for me that I’m toughing out the hard parts knowing that everything will end up ok. You can always move home and get a job waiting tables or something in the interim. Be where you’re going to be happy. Life’s too short.

  8. DO IT! Take the leap! You have family there so you already have a foundation to build on. Once you are in San Francisco, it’ll be much easier to find a job in person and you’ll be more motivated as there is no back up/safety blanket of your old job 🙂

  9. I would definitely do it! That first REAL step is so important. Other things will fall into place. The important thing is that you’ll have somewhere to stay until all of the other things actually do fall into place.

  10. Pingback: I’m Going Going, Back Back… | Broccolini + Cheese

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

