I’m Going Going, Back Back…

… To Cali, Cali!

I’m sure if you follow me on twitter, you have probably guessed by now that I decided to take the leap and move to San Francisco!

I am excited, scared, anxious, happy, overwhelmed but ready to take this head on.

Oh and by the way, I need to be out of my apartment by September 20th!!! While this is so soon, its okay because that means I will be home by my birthday (September 30th) and that means I am going to be started my 27th year off fresh and focused in the state I want to be it. And that has to be a good sign.

I have a lot to do in less than a month, but I know I can get it done. Probably the only thing I know for sure as of this moment is that I will be driving. Hopefully this is my last cross country road trip ever because it is definitely not my first.

I will keep you all in the loop as I go, but I just want to say THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU to all of you who had the nicest words of encouragement to say to me. I appreciated them all so much and they really did give me that extra push to make this decision.

So with all that being said, here goes nothing!! California here I come!

__________________

It was so nice yesterday to be able to make lunch in my own kitchen. I think this is my new dream. Making lunch at home everyday. I am going to try to live as close to my new office as possible (you know when I get my dream job after I land in SF next month) so I can walk home for lunch.

I whipped up a pretty tasty salad complete with lettuce, onion, cucumber, feta (fat free,) hummus guacamole, a slice of turkey + a strip of turkey bacon. I also put a little Trader Joe’s Fat Free Balsamic on top. First time having this + I loved it!

A little while later I had a snack of banana + Dark Chocolate PB + chia seeds. Yum, yum + more yum.

A little while after my snack I headed to the gym for my 2 miles that I needed to make up for after missing it this weekend. And you know what? It felt so good. I think with all my news, I just needed to run! I warmed up and planned on running 1 mile, doing a breather and then doing the other, but at 1 mile I knew I could do more so I kept on running until I was at 2 miles. It felt pretty good! I cooled down, and did some upper body strength work (lat pull downs, rows, chest press + some ab work) and called it a workout.

I made a quick + easy dinner afterwards of whole wheat pasta, zucchini, mushrooms, onions, garlic + chicken sausage with some olive oil on top. Oh + a sprinkle of freshly grated parmesan. 🙂

I also had a I’m-moving-back-to-California-celebratory glass of wine, + I ended my night with one of these.

Have you ever driven cross country? Favorite route? I think I know which way I’m going but I probably won’t share until I get to CA! (Safety first!)

16 thoughts on “I’m Going Going, Back Back…

  1. Congrats! It sounds like you definitely made the right choice for you and it’s going to be such an adventure!

    When I moved from VA to CA, we took the southern route, which was pretty blah, but it was in the winter, so we had no choice. I know the next time I make that drive, I want to try the Northern route. Very exciting stuff!

  2. Hey! Hooray! Perhaps when I come to SF for Foodbuzz in November we can meet? 🙂 I have just started reading your blog, but I feel a special bond now, as I took a leap of faith and moved to Texas last summer just because I felt I needed to. Lucky you, it sounds like you are returning to family and whatnot…congrats on the decision!

  3. I need to get in on that Chocolate PB action. I’m just afraid. Afraid I will love it too much. Nutella and I have a similar relationship. Ok, and I love me some Skinny Cows. I nibble the edges first to get all the cookie part that’s not touching the ice cream. My husband hatest that cuz he always wants a bite and I’ve already put my mouth around the whole thing. 🙂

  4. YAY! I can’t wait for you to get here!
    Do you have a job lined up? Are you living with family? Ahh! I have so many questions – maybe I should just email you! 🙂

    Good luck with the drive/move! My husband and I drove here from DC last September – I feel ya!

    • Email me! broccoliniandcheese@gmail.com

      But to answer your Qs quick, I have a lot of job leads and have had several interviews so hopefully when I get there I will get something quick! I’ll stay with my mom when I first get there and the will find a place of my own once I am employed!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

