Turkey + Veggie Stuffed Shells.

Hello, hello + happy hump day! It has been DOWN POURING here in DC all day. It’s dark and cloudy, and just overall not nice. I ran around like a crazy person at work today which was also not nice – whoever said quitting was easy has never had to create a transition plan. This is not fun! In my craziness, I even forgot to eat breakfast. The most important, not to mention my favorite, meal of the day. I was le sad (+ le hungry.)

Luckily, I brought lunch to work today, which means I at least did not have to venture outside into the storm.

stuffed salads + lite caesar salad

Last night I made stuffed shells, which is my roommates’ all time favorite recipe, so I walked her step by step through the process. I promised I show her before I left, so it has been on my to do list. (Check!) It’s kind of a concoction I have created perfected over the last few years but basically it is as followed.

Turkey + Veggie Stuffed Shells
A Broccolini + Cheese Original 

Ingredients:
– 1 package (4-5 links) loose turkey sausage
– 1 package jumbo spaghetti shells (I use whole wheat.)
– 2 jars spaghetti sauce (Use your favorite kind!)
– 1ish TBSP EVVO
– 1 8oz package low-fat mozzarella cheese
– 1 green zucchini, diced
– 1 yellow squash, diced
– 1 small yellow onion, diced
– 1 package baby bella mushrooms, diced
– 1 bell pepper, diced
– 4-6 cloves garlic, minced
– dried herbs, salt + pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.
2. Dice all the veggies (zucchini through garlic) + sautee on stove top with the EVVO. (I usually add a one vegetable group at a time for even sauteing.)
3. Separate turkey sausage meat from casing + brown on stop top. (Use a spatula to create small chunks of the meat just slightly larger than the size of the vegetables.)
4. Boil water + cook jumbo shells as directed for “el dente”
5. Combine sausage + vegetable mix and add in whatever herbs and spices you love the most plus salt + pepper to taste. (If I am feeling lazy I love Trader Joe’s 21 Seasoning Salute or Herbs de Provence. Both perfect!)
6. When sells are ready, strain water and rinse with cool water. (Those babies get hot!)
7. Stuff shells with sausage-veggie mix and place in a large baking pan.
8. Pour sauce over shells and sprinkle mozzarella over the top.
9. Cover pan with foil + place in pre-heated oven for 30 minutes or until sauce is boiling!
10. Enjoy!

I wish I had taken pictures, but the tutorial with my roommate was already a lot and made this go a bit slower than I like! But I am always happy to share food with friends 🙂

Anyways, its late + I have yet to eat dinner! Probably more stuffed shells and salad for me. (Trying not to buy too much food before I leave!)

2 thoughts on “Turkey + Veggie Stuffed Shells.

  1. I am a horrible cook, but one thing I CAN make is stuffed shells. The hubs LOVES them. Never thought to put turkey in there. That sounds fab. Usually I just do a cheese mixture with some yummy sauce on top. I made them for my in-laws for Christmas Eve last year and I think I fooled them into thinking their son picked a good wife. 🙂

  2. How fun! I have never made stuffed shells but they look delicious and I want to try! It doesn’t seem too hard either. Cooking with roomies is so fun…totally boosts house camaraderie 🙂

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

