Monday’s Eats + Sore Feet.

Okay, I know, the title probably doesn’t make you want to eat, after reading feet, but I couldn’t help myself. šŸ™‚

Yesterday was a gorgeous day here in the city. Sunny, sunny with more sunny. Waking up on a sunny day just makes you want to spend it outside. I had a cup of coffee, leftoverĀ KodiakĀ Blueberry Pancakes with a little Justin’s Maple Almond Butter, some banana, Agave Syrup + some Chia Seeds on top.

Perfect fuel for a long walk around the city to get aĀ littleĀ exploringĀ in/ figure out where everything is. šŸ™‚

I ended upĀ trekking over 4 miles around the city. It felt good to move my legs, take in the Pacific Ocean air, and to see the amazing new city I am living in!

The walk was also a good idea since my foot has had some serious arch cramping since driving across the country. I have extremelyĀ flat feet and really need to do something about finding some running shoes that have better arch support. I Ā mean, my foot cramping from using the gas pedal for 5 days (even if it was all day) clearly indicates I need something to help me out!

The walk definitely help. As did the random arch stretching I did while on the walk.

Any arch supporting shoe recommendations out there? Overall, it was a nice long walk that really help me get a little more familiar with my city. And I only had to look at my iPhone map once or twice.

After my walk, and since I do not have a gym to use currently, I came back home and threw in Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred into the DVD player and did Level 1.

I’ve started this DVD a few times, and never get past doing it a few times in a row. Since I have no gym, I think Jillian might have to be my trainer for the next few weeks. So I am hoping to actually do this thing at least 5 times a week. Have you ever tried it? Thoughts?

After my walk + Jillian I had worked up quite the appetite, and whipped together a big salad.

In the mix: romaine lettuce, cucumber, celery, carrots, Trader Joe’s Roasted Chicken Patty, a sprinkle of cheddar + a little Light ChampagneĀ VinaigretteĀ from TJ’s as well. It hit the stop. I have missed homemade salads. Homemade everything for that matter, after all those Subway sandwiches last week! (Just writing Subway makes me go blah!)

After lunch I got to work getting things organized. While I have a very, very good lead on a job with an in person interview for it next week, I do not want to place all my eggs in one basket, so I spent the afternoon looking for jobs which I will apply for today! I also did a few other tasks that I needed to get done, and while typing away, eventually snacked on a Mojo Bar my mother bought a Costco pack of on Sunday.

This one was pretty tasty. Definitely good for someone with a sweet tooth, which for me is some days true, some days not.

Oh and I might have been doing all this work while watching the first season (not in its entirety…yet) of Sex and the City. The entire series is in this apartment. This could be a good or a bad thing, but as long as I am productive, then it can stay on… right?!

For dinner, I had a chicken that needed to be roasted, so I did a little research, and decided to make a Roast Chicken with Lemon + Thyme. I also decided to take a few more pictures while making it, in case you guys were interested. What I love about this recipe is its simpleĀ ingredientsĀ that create a delicious, fresh flavor. I have been all about fresh tasting food lately, haven’t I?

Roast Chicken with Lemon + Thyme
Adapted from Epicurious.comĀ 

Ingredients:

  • 3 tablespoons minced fresh thyme
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 5 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons grated lemon peel
  • 1 7-pound roasting chicken
  • 1 lemon, quartered

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450Ā°F. Mix first 4 ingredients in bowl.

Rinse chicken; pat dry.

Place chicken in roasting pan. Rub all but 1 tablespoon garlic-thyme oil over. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place lemon in cavity of chicken.

Roast chicken 20 minutes at 450Ā°F. Reduce oven temperature to 375Ā°F. Roast chicken until meat thermometer inserted into thickest part of inner thigh registers 180Ā°F, about 1 hour 15 minutes.

Let chicken sit for several minutes + enjoy.

I served the chicken with a little brown rice + roastedĀ asparagusĀ on the side. It was a perfectly fresh, delicious and simple meal. The only downside is the length of time it takes to cook the chicken, but it is well worth it. Trust me.

This was actually way too much chicken for me to eat, so I only ended up eating about half, but I am terrible at cutting chicken off a whole bird… this girl needs lessons stat! Overall, it was a great first Monday in San Francisco!

Have you ever roasted a chicken? What are some of your favorite recipes? And don’t forget, if you have any suggestions for running shoes with good arch support please let me know!Ā 

6 thoughts on “Monday’s Eats + Sore Feet.

  1. I love roast chicken – mine are usually really plain and I just stuff them with onions, garlic, and lemons! I agree – it takes way too long to cook but is well worth it.

    Your breakfast looks exactly like my Saturday breakfast! Yummm šŸ™‚

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

