Birthday Weekend.

Whew. What a birthday weekend. Although I have to admit, it was not my typical birthday weekend, it was more age appropriate I suppose (aka I did not drink like a fish Winking smile.) I started my birthday with a little pampering by getting my nails done and a little window shopping. Even though nothing caught my eye it was a nice morning.

001

I wanted to eat at Swan’s for lunch, (best oysters I have ever had,) but the line was too long, so I ended up eating at a little Greek restaurant for lunch called Mykonos. The food was okay, but the best part was reminiscing about the time I went to Mykonos in 2005. Two of my girlfriends and I had a blast, and now I want to go back, as soon as possible!

005006

I ordered the Falafel plate for lunch which came with pita, hummus, Greek salad, and Greek country potatoes. I probably just should have a had a gyros. I also ordered a Greek beer. I wanted a Mythos, but they didn’t have it. Oh well!

After lunch, I headed down for a little more pampering, it was finally time for me to get my hair done! It had been wayy too long.

010

Look at those roots! I wanted something a little more natural and a little darker for Fall.

011 (2)

Don’t mind the champagne glass, but look past it towards my hair. I love the final outcome! (And the sparkling wine was delicious too!)

For dinner my sister, her fiancé and my mom headed to The Slanted Door down on the Embarcadero. I started my night taking pictures but slowly forgot as soon as we sat at the table.

013 (2)

016 (2)

018 (2)

I started with a Gin Fizz (pictured above) before moving on too more sparkling wine. I love sparkling wine, and its even better when you are celebrating. The food was awesome, and we ordered enough so that I know that the entire menu is pretty much delicious. I am sad I forgot to take pictures, but we were all enthralled in eating and talking, so you will have to settle for a list:

  • crispy imperial rolls  with shrimp, pork, glass noodles and peanuts 
  • steak tartare  grass-fed tenderloin with mint, thai basil, quail egg and toasted sesame rice cracker
  • mesquite grilled lamb sausage and kusshi oysters  chinese black olive and preserved lemon relish
  • grapefruit and jicama  with red cabbage, pickled carrots and candied pecans
  • grass-fed estancia shaking beef,  cubed filet mignon, watercress, red onions and lime sauce
  • lemongrass grilled petaluma rabbit  with olive oil poached leg, braised fennel, thai basil, chive and lemon
  • cellophane noodles  with green onion and fresh dungeness crab meat
  • chue farm baby bok choy  with baby shiitake mushrooms

I still cannot believe I didn’t take pictures. But everything again was amazing. The dishes are not too big, so you can have a little of each without feeling too full. We definitely still had room for cake!

013photo (1)

After dinner my mom headed home and the rest of us headed out for a drink at a fun little bar up on Filmore. Overall, the night was fun, full of delicious food and family! It has literally been almost ten years since I was with all my family for my birthday! So needless to say, it was long overdue.

On Saturday, it was time for one of my favorite things, wine tasting in Wine Country. Did you know I liked wine? Winking smile My grandpa also lives up in Napa, so it was a chance to visit him as well. We went to several wineries, including:

Ram’s Gate

041

030036038

Hall Winery

020061

Grgich Hills Estate

045047056058060

Rubicon Estate
(owed by Francis Ford Coppola)

073074076082

Between wine stops, we grabbed lunch in St Helena at a little café downtown. I ordered a big Cobb Salad to soak up some of the wine. Smile

016

Today, was just an easy day which was just what I needed after a long night on Friday and a long day on Saturday. I got some laundry done, went to brunch at B Star (honey lemon iced tea + huevos rancheros,) and meal planned for the upcoming week.

023024

Now that my birthday is over its time to get back on track, which is exactly what will be happening! After all the planning, moving and birthday celebrating, back on track is what has to happen!

It was a great weekend, with a great final dinner, which I will post about tomorrow! Hope you all enjoyed your weekend too! Good night!

5 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend.

  1. Just catching up–cheers to your birthday, sweetie! It looks like you had a great time celebrating. I’m jealous that you’re so close to the wineries!!!! AHHH! I think I need to come and visit! 😉

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

