Go Time + Stuffed Peppers.

Good morning everyone + Happy Monday! This week for me is all about one this: being productive! I had my week off to get settled, but this week its go time. I am setting up interviews, applying for every single job I find and getting my butt moving by picking up my workouts and run, and really watching what I eat (and drink) for the next few weeks. It is go time. Time to set myself up for an awesome  new chapter of my life here in San Francisco. Time to get back in the game. Because let’s face it, the last few months I’ve been in limbo, and it’s time to move on to bigger and better things! And let me tell you all, I am more than ready. More than ready.

After a weekend of indulgence, last night for dinner was all about balance. The weekend before last I bought a huge bag of bell peppers at Costco, only to come home and find a bag of them already in the refrigerator. Needless to say, I had a lot of peppers to use! Since I still had six left last night, I decided that stuffed peppers were a perfect way to use some of those up. Three to be exact!

004

Stuffed peppers are really easy to make, seriously! Just pick you favorite ground meat or sausage, your favorite vegetables and your favorite grain, and you are ready to make stuffed peppers. Last night I browned, sautéed and then mixed together:

  • Chicken Sausage, 1 pound
  • Mushrooms, 4 ounces
  • Onion, half
  • Garlic, 6 gloves
  • Spinach, 3 big handfuls
  • Diced Tomatoes, 1 can
  • Brown Rice, 1 cup cooked
  • Italian Spice Mix, 1 Tbsp
  • Salt + Pepper, to taste

093096

Afterward your mix is ready, slice the peppers in half, remove the seeds and stuff. Place in a baking dish with a bit of chicken broth or veggie brown about an 1/8th of an inch high, cover with tin foil, and bake at 400 degrees of 35 minutes. Sprinkle with a little parmesan cheese and voila!

099100105108

The steam was fogging up my camera, but these little treats were delicious! I love making meals on Sunday nights that can be used for leftovers during the week for lunch or a lazy dinner. Normally, I see recipes for stuffed peppers that use cumin or other Mexican-esque or Spanish spices, but this time I decided to go for a more Italian feel, and it worked!

I am now patiently waiting for my new running shoes to come in, that will hopefully have more arch support than my current ones, and then I will be out for my first run in San Francisco! (Hopefully the rain stays away!)

I’ve got a lot to do, so I’ve got to go! Be back later! Hope no one is having a case of the Mondays!

3 thoughts on “Go Time + Stuffed Peppers.

  1. I have a major case of the Mondays. Ugh. At least the day is going by quickly!

    I love stuffed peppers! My favorite stuffed pepper is just my usual meat sauce put in a pepper instead of over spaghetti. Yum!

    Good luck with the interviews and job applications!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

