Fall in a Bowl.

Yesterday for breakfast, I ate fall in a bowl. For the past month or so I have see pumpkin oats all around on this blog or that. And for the past month or so I have been meaning to pick up a can of pumpkin puree. Well, on Sunday I finally remembered and picked up a can from Trader Joe’s. Since I missed breakfast on Monday, it was clear that I wasn’t about to miss it again yesterday, I mean it is the most important meal of the day, not to mention, I had some pumpkin oats to try!

038039040

Try I did and they were fantastic. At first I thought I had put too much pumpkin and water in the oats I was making. I threw some chia seeds in the mix too help soak some of the liquid up, put in it the microwave for just a little longer than normal, and the crisis was averted. I topped my oats with some fresh blueberries and some agave sweetener (my new obsession) and a little piece of fall was mine for breakfast. (Don’t worry, plenty of fall to go around. Winking smile)

Lunch was another chicken patty from Trader Joe’s (clearly obsessed with these too,) on a Whole Wheat Bagel Thin with spicy hummus, red onion, cucumbers and spinach plus some carrots on the side. Another winning meal, if I do say so myself.

041042044

Dinner’s inspiration was care of my go to blog for healthy recipes, SkinnyTaste. If you’ve never been on the site, go now! It’s great, super easy to search, and has all the nutritional information you need.

I made Chicken + Mushrooms in a Garlic White Wine Sauce, and it turned out great. The only steps I did differently was skip the flour and butter. I paired the chicken with whole wheat cous cous and a big salad on the side.

006007

Overall, a pretty yummy day for food. I also had a hard boiled egg in there after my workout in the afternoon.

Speaking of workouts, yesterday I decided to start a Couch to 10K program. The first workout was a little easy, so I think I am going to try the second week, workout one and see if that’s better. I figured that even though I’m not starting from the couch per se, I am starting outside and in a city with a lot of hills. The program is on my iPhone, so it tells you want to walk or run, and no matter where I was on my route, I would run when it said. Sometimes this was up some freaking steep hills (good for the booty!) but it was still a bit too easy for me. So I’m just going to do the first day of each week until I get to a week that I find challenging. Then I will complete the week (3 runs per week.) I may do more than 3 runs a week, I may not. I am just going to go at a pace that comfortable to me, yet challenging at the same time.

I’m frustrated with my fitness improvements over the time I started this blog till now. While I have had lots of big changes since I started the goal of becoming a runner, I really have no excuse now. That being said, I know me, and I know I can over do it. So I am going to try and listen to my body, push myself in a good way, and see where I end up. I am looking for a race to sign up for in the near future, but what to get a few weeks in of running in this new city before I commit myself. I also want to wait a few weeks, because I have decided to go to a Team in Training informational meeting in a few weeks to see if that is the way I want to train. I think running with a team would be so motivational for me. It’s always just been me with my running, and running alone, or going to a race, alone, just seems so depressing to me sometimes. I am trying to convince my sister to go with me, and run with me, so we shall see.

I am sure some of you have been a part of Team in Training. Do you recommend it? Also, San Francisco/Bay Area runners, where do you like to run? I need to get my booty moving, so any information you have, I would love to hear!

Speaking of getting my booty moving, I am out the door to get a workout in! Have a happy hump day!

9 thoughts on “Fall in a Bowl.

  1. I’ve never done Team in Training (I’m not a huge fan of running with a group or being told where/when I need to run) but I have friends who swear by it and love it!

    I love to run by the water and in areas where I don’t have to stop every 5 minutes for traffic lights. The Embarcadero is a great spot to run! Lots to see too!

  2. I haven’t done Team in Training, but I think it could be a good solution for you! Or maybe sign up for another running group–try meetup.com, maybe. I am not all that into the whole fundraising thing (not that I don’t like it, I’m just horrible at it!), so I would go for something without a financial obligation attached, ya know?

    • The fundraising it what I am most worried about! That’s why I’ll check out the meeting before I commit. I should check out meetup too – that’s a good idea!

  3. Hi love!

    Team in training sounds like a good thing for you to try! You might like it, so it never hurts to give it a chance!

    Fall in a bowl! Love!

    Happy Sunday!

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

