Cold & Hot.

For the past few days, I have been fighting a cold. But between Fleet Weekend (which was so much fun) dog sitting (a big, fluffy standard poodle) & job hunting (which is seriously a full-time job,) I have been too busy to even realize I wasn’t feeling good in the first place. I hate colds and I hate being sick. Not that anyone likes being sick, but I especially hate it, because I don’t really know how to be sick. I tend to ignore the fact that I am not feeling well until its too late.

095

Even though I am bad at recognizing that I have a cold, I have the perfect recipe to fight it: Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup. Hot to fight cold? Seems to make sense right? I have been living off this since yesterday and am already less congested and am feeling a little bit better.

Chicken Noodle Soup
From my mother’s kitchen to yours.

photo (2)

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 chicken breast halves
  • 1-2 leeks (cleaned and sliced thinly)
  • Carrots
  • Celery
  • Zucchini
  • Yellow squash
  • Kale
  • 1 can diced tomatoes
  • 4 cloves garlic minced
  • 1 tablespoon of fresh ginger minced (more if you want a kick)
  • 2-boxes of chicken stock
  • Noodles (your choice)

Directions:

Clean chicken breast with cold water removing skin and excess fat.  Place in stock pot and add stock.  Add 1 cup of water.  Add remaining ingredients except the noodles.  Bring to a boil and then cover and lower heat to a simmer for at least 1 hour. Enjoy!

Notes:

The longer you simmer, the better it is! I usually make Whole Wheat “No Yolk Noodles” on the side and just add them at the end so that they don’t fall apart, although this time I forgot them and just added mini bowtie pasta that I had in the cupboard.

This is the best soup for when you are sick. It warms you up, provides a ton of nutrients and most importantly tastes amazing.

I have been applying for jobs up a storm, and have told myself that job applications are my priority right now over blogging. PLUS, I have something new I am going to tell you about soon which I have been working on, which I am really excited about, so that has been taking some time as well.

So hold tight, and I promise to not be as much as a stranger. Hopefully I have a job and feel better soon, soon, soon!

3 thoughts on “Cold & Hot.

Questions or Comments? Reply here!

